JOI-Design_Innenarchitektur_Interior Design_170130_JC_Signet_Web

Arborea Neustadt

“Experience Together”: the credo of the new hotel brand Arborea is based on the principle of shared experiences. This novel resort hotel concept encourages social interaction in public areas, while the guestrooms become inspiring retreats with beds that face the Baltic Sea along and other unconventional furniture in bold colours.

The public areas offer numerous opportunities to make new friends, from cooking lessons with the restaurant’s chefs, a bar with a “workshop” where guests can tinker with real tools, and plenty of flexible spaces where chairs can be rearranged to expand the party or from intimate nooks. The main attraction welcoming guests upon entry into the hotel atrium is “The Stairs”, tiered platforms where community activities are planned and take place, cocktails from the adjacent bar are enjoyed, and emails are checked between entertaining sports and cultural events. A diverse F&B offering completes the special holiday experience.

Johann Kerkhofs, General Manager at Arborea Resorts Neustadt

What was the overall premise of the project?

Portrait of Johann Kerkhofs

We always say, “Holidays should be like the perfect weekend, only longer!” You meet good friends, spend the whole day outside and cook together in the evening. This is the basis of the ARBOREA Marina Resort Neustadt’s motto, “Experience.Together”, which describes the mix of activities and relaxation that can be customised to individual preferences. An essential part of this concept is nature and communication. As soon as people come together and connect, a sense of community arises. To me, society needs to grow more and more in this direction. From long community tables at breakfast to The Stairs, our hotel’s features, and their interior design, should help lower guests’ inhibition to talk with strangers.

 

What do you particularly like about JOI-Design’s concept?

With bright, natural tones, the calm and cool industrial chic created by JOI-Design’s interior architects fits the atmosphere of Neustadt. The green surroundings blend with the resort’s interiors via large windows and natural materials. There are no senseless bells and whistles, we limit ourselves to the essentials. With us, it’s about experiencing things together. JOI-Design created The Stairs as central platform where guests can communicate with each other. As the heart of the hotel, the open staircase will be a recurring feature in our future properties. Guests can retreat to built-in sitting areas, yet at the same time, talk with each other when they feel like it and take in the views of the surrounding salt marshes and the Baltic Sea.

Share

JOI-Design_Innenarchitektur_Interior Design_170130_JC_Signet_Web

Arborea Neustadt

‚Experience together‘ – das Credo der neu gegründeten Marke Arborea beruht auf dem Prinzip der gemeinsamen Erlebnisse. Es geht um ein neuartiges smartes Konzept für die Resort Hotellerie, wo der Fokus auf dem sozialen Miteinander in den öffentlichen Bereichen liegt. Die Zimmer sind inspirierender Rückzugsort mit einem Bett, das sich zur Ostsee hin ausrichtet und weiteren unkonventionellen Möbeln sowie viel Mut zur Farbe.

In den Public Areas stehen gemeinsames Kochen, eine eigene Werkstatt und viel Raum für Interaktion im Mittelpunkt. Ins Auge sticht das Atrium ‚The Stairs‘, das den Gast gleich beim Betreten des Hotels empfängt: Hier werden gemeinschaftliche Aktionen geplant, es ist aber auch Platz für einen Drink aus der angrenzenden Bar oder das Checken von E-Mails zwischendurch. Ein vielfältiges F&B Angebot rundet das besondere Urlaubserlebnis ab.

 

Johann Kerkhofs – Hoteldirektor, Arborea Resort Neustadt

  • Was war die Grundidee hinter dem Projekt?

    Wir sagen immer: Urlaub sollte so sein wie ein perfektes Wochenende, nur länger! Man Portrait Johann Kerkhofstrifft gute Freunde, ist den ganzen Tag draußen unterwegs und abends wird gemeinsam gekocht. Dafür bieten wir unter dem Credo Experience.Together. im ARBOREA Marina Resort Neustadt einen individuell anpassbaren Mix aus Action und Relaxen. Wesentlicher Bestandteil dieses Konzepts ist die Natur und die Kommunikation untereinander. Sobald Menschen zusammenkommen und kommunizieren, entsteht ein Gefühl der Gemeinschaft. Das ist etwas, wo wir uns aus meiner Sicht wieder vermehrt hin entwickeln sollten. Mit verschiedenen Angeboten, von langen Tafeln beim Frühstück bis hin zu TheStairs wollen wir die Hemmschwelle senken, mit fremden Personen zu sprechen und diese Grundidee sollte sich auch im Innendesign widerspiegeln.

 

  • Was fanden Sie besonders gut an dem Konzept von JOI-Design?

    Mit hellen, natürlichen Tönen schufen die Architekten von JOI-Design in Neustadt eine unaufgeregte, coole und von Industrie-Chic geprägte  Atmosphäre. Die Natur und Umgebung holen sie uns über große Fenster und natürliche Materialien ins Resort. Bei uns gibt es keinen sinnlosen Schnickschnack, wir beschränken uns auf das Wesentliche. Bei uns geht es darum Dinge gemeinsam zu erleben. TheStairs ist dabei die von JOI-Design gestaltete zentrale Kommunikationsplattform. Die offene Freilichttreppe ist das Herzstück des Hotels und soll es auch für die zukünftigen Häuser werden. Es gibt Sitzecken, in die sich Gäste zurückziehen, aber auch jederzeit miteinander ins Gespräch kommen können, während sie den Blick über die umliegenden Salzwiesen und die Ostsee schweifen lassen.

Share