JOI-Design_Innenarchitektur_Interior Design_170130_JC_Signet_Web

me and all hotel kiel

For the recently launched boutique lifestyle brand, me and all hotels, interior architect JOI-Design developed a concept of ‘urban natural chic’ blending nautical influences from its setting along the inner fjord of Kiel, Germany, with industrial elements from the docks and nearby train station.

Careful to avoid kitsch, the studio selected casual maritime accents that cleverly reference me and all Kiel’s proximity to the water and the port, while steel and concrete elements allude to the rough character of a shipyard. Natural materials and references to nature go hand-in-hand to create a relaxed, down-to-earth atmosphere.

Authentic natural materials such as real timber floors and wall cladding made from recycled wood accompany concrete finishes, joining forces to create a strong character. Rough-hewn accents inspired by the nearby shipyards are softened by numerous plants, flattering light fixtures and smooth, high-quality leather upholstery.

Andreas Krökel – Board of Directors Operations, Sales & Marketing /Chief Operating Officer Lindner Hotels & Resorts

What was the general premise of the project?

For years, we’ve conducted trend tours to gather new ideas and track down trends in hotel architecture. For example, we visited numerous boutique hotels in New York a few years ago and were very enthusiastic about the “urban garden concept” newly emerging in some hotels, especially as implemented in the 1Hotel Brooklyn Bridge. We introduced this core principle when briefing JOI-Design about the project.

What did you find particularly good about JOI-Design’s concept?

In addition to friendly and straightforward cooperation, JOI-Design understood perfectly how to adapt our primary architectural idea for Kiel’s location and link it with the “local hero” concept of me and all hotels – a basic building block of the me and all brand’s DNA – through interior design. We are very happy with the result.

Share

JOI-Design_Innenarchitektur_Interior Design_170130_JC_Signet_Web

me and all hotel kiel

Für die neue Boutique-Lifestyle-Marke me and all hotels kreierte JOI-Design einen charakterstarken Look – urbaner ‚natural chic‘ trifft hier auf roughen Werft-Charakter. Direkt an der Kieler Innenförde gelegen und unweit vom Hauptbahnhof begeistert das neueste me and all hotel in Deutschland mit 164 Zimmern Städtereisende und Stadtbewohner.

Das Innenarchitektur Konzept ist durch einen starken Bezug zur Natur und zu naturbelassenen Oberflächen geprägt – das wirkt offen und warm. Gleichzeitig gibt es lässige maritime Details zu entdecken, die die Nähe zum Wasser und zum Hafen in Kiel unterstreichen – eine Symbiose, die zum Verweilen und Seele baumeln lassen einlädt – ohne direkt kitschig zu wirken.

Authentische und natürliche Materialien wie der Echtholzfußboden und Wandverkleidungen aus recyceltem Holz verschmelzen mit stilvollem Beton. Roughes Werft-Design spiegelt die Nähe zum Wasser und zum Standort wider und trifft dabei auf bepflanzte Wände und Decken. Und charakteristisches Schwarzmetall wird durch glatte und hochwertige Lederoberflächen sowie Lichtinstallationen umschmeichelt.

Andreas Krökel – Vorstand Operations, Sales & Marketing /Chief Operating Officer Lindner Hotels & Resorts

Was war die Grundidee hinter dem Projekt?

Seit Jahren führen wir Trendreisen durch, um neue Ideen zu sammeln und Hotelarchitektur-Trends aufzuspüren. So waren wir u.a. vor einigen Jahren in New York, haben uns zahleiche Boutique-Hotels angesehen und waren vom damals neu aufkeimenden  „Urban Gardening-Konzept“ einiger Hotels und insbesondere der Umsetzung im 1Hotel Brooklyn Bridge sehr begeistert. Diese Grundidee haben wir anschl. im Briefing mit JOI aufgegriffen.

Was fanden Sie besonders gut an dem Konzept von JOI-Design?

Von der unkomplizierten und sympathischen Zusammenarbeit mal ganz abgesehen, hat es JOI-Design perfekt verstanden, unsere architektonische Grundidee auf den Standort Kiel zu adaptieren und mit dem „Local Hero-Gedanken der me and all hotels“ – welcher den Grundbaustein unserer me and all-DNA darstellt – innenarchitektonisch zu verknüpfen. Wir freuen uns sehr über das Ergebnis.

 

Share